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 POWELL, J.:  After his probation was revoked and he was ordered to serve his 

underlying prison sentence, Chad A. Tippetts appeals, claiming his sentence is illegal 

because the district court improperly scored his 2015 Arizona aggravated assault 

conviction as a person felony. We disagree. According to the law in existence at the time 

Tippetts was sentenced, his Arizona aggravated assault conviction was comparable to 

Kansas' assault and burglary statutes, both person crimes, meaning the district court 

properly scored the conviction as a person felony. Thus, we affirm. 
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FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND 

 

 On November 7, 2017, Tippetts pled guilty to a single count of robbery. His 

presentence investigation (PSI) report listed his criminal history score as C, based in part 

on the classification of his 2015 Arizona aggravated assault conviction as a person 

felony. 

 

 At his sentencing on December 20, 2017, Tippetts did not object to his criminal 

history score, and he was sentenced by the district court to 57 months in prison but was 

granted a dispositional departure to probation for a period of 36 months. 

 

 Tippetts was ultimately unsuccessful on probation, and, on October 31, 2018, the 

district court revoked his probation and ordered him to serve his underlying prison 

sentence. 

 

 Tippetts timely appeals. 

 

DID THE DISTRICT COURT ERR IN CLASSIFYING TIPPETTS' PRIOR OUT-OF-STATE 

CONVICTION AS A PERSON FELONY? 

 

Rather than challenge the revocation of his probation, for the first time on appeal 

Tippetts argues his sentence is illegal, specifically claiming his criminal history score is 

incorrect because the district court erred in classifying his prior out-of-state conviction as 

a person felony. Relying on State v. Wetrich, 307 Kan. 552, 561-62, 412 P.3d 984 (2018) 

(identical or narrower test), Tippetts argues his prior Arizona aggravated assault 

conviction was improperly classified as a person offense because the elements of Arizona 

aggravated assault are broader than the elements of the comparable Kansas crime. 
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Classification of prior offenses for criminal history purposes involves statutory 

interpretation, which is a question of law subject to unlimited review. 307 Kan. at 555. 

 

Tippetts did not raise a challenge to his criminal history before the district court. 

Typically, appellate courts will not consider issues raised for the first time on appeal. 

State v. Kelly, 298 Kan. 965, 971, 318 P.3d 987 (2014). However, under K.S.A. 2019 

Supp. 22-3504(a), an illegal sentence may be corrected at any time while the defendant is 

serving his or her sentence, including when the issue is raised for the first time on appeal. 

See State v. Dickey, 301 Kan. 1018, 1034, 350 P.3d 1054 (2015) (Dickey I). An illegal 

sentence is "a sentence:  Imposed by a court without jurisdiction; that does not conform 

to the applicable statutory provision, either in character or punishment; or that is 

ambiguous with respect to the time and manner in which it is to be served at the time it is 

pronounced." K.S.A. 2019 Supp. 22-3504(c)(1); see State v. Warrior, 303 Kan. 1008, 

1009-10, 368 P.3d 1111 (2016). 

 

Tippetts' PSI assigned him a criminal history score of C based on one prior person 

felony—the 2015 Arizona aggravated battery conviction. Had this conviction been scored 

as a nonperson felony, Tippetts' criminal history score would have been E, thus reducing 

his presumptive sentence. See K.S.A. 2019 Supp. 21-6804(a). 

 

According to the revised Kansas Sentencing Guidelines Act (KSGA), K.S.A. 2019 

Supp. 21-6801 et seq., a two-step process is used when classifying prior out-of-state 

convictions for purposes of establishing a defendant's criminal history. First, the prior 

offense is classified as either a felony or a misdemeanor according to how the convicting 

jurisdiction classified the offense. K.S.A. 2019 Supp. 21-6811(e)(2). Tippetts does not 

raise an issue with the prior conviction's classification as a felony. Second, the offense is 

classified as either a person or nonperson crime by referring to "comparable offenses 

under the Kansas criminal code in effect on the date the current crime of conviction was 

committed." K.S.A. 2019 Supp. 21-6811(e)(3). 
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Our Supreme Court has held that "the legality of a sentence is determined by the 

law in effect at the time the sentence was pronounced." State v. Murdock, 309 Kan. 585, 

592, 439 P.3d 307 (2019) (Murdock II). When Tippetts was sentenced in December 2017, 

Wetrich's "identical or narrower" test did not yet exist. Instead, a determination of 

whether a defendant's prior out-of-state conviction should be classified as a person or 

nonperson crime was performed by examining a Kansas crime that was merely 

"comparable" and "not identical." In other words, a comparable Kansas crime is one that 

"is similar in nature and covers similar conduct." State v. Barajas, 43 Kan. App. 2d 639, 

644, 230 P.3d 784 (2010). The "closest approximation" of the comparable crime satisfied 

this inquiry. See State v. Vandervort, 276 Kan. 164, 179, 72 P.3d 925 (2003), overruled 

in part on other grounds by Dickey I, 301 Kan. 1018; see also State v. Williams, 299 Kan. 

870, 873, 326 P.3d 1070 (2014) (holding comparable offense means "'the offenses need 

only be comparable, not identical'") (quoting Vandervort, 276 Kan. at 179). 

 

Tippetts was convicted of aggravated assault in Arizona in 2015 under Ariz. Rev. 

Stat. Ann. § 13-1204 (2015). The lengthy Arizona aggravated assault statute provides, in 

relevant part: 

 
"A. A person commits aggravated assault if the person commits assault as 

prescribed by § 13-1203 under any of the following circumstances: 

 

1. If the person causes serious physical injury to another. 

 

2. If the person uses a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument. 

 

3. If the person commits the assault by any means of force that causes temporary 

but substantial disfigurement, temporary but substantial loss or impairment of any body 

organ or part or a fracture of any body part. 

 

4. If the person commits the assault while the victim is bound or otherwise 

physically restrained or while the victim's capacity to resist is substantially impaired. 
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5. If the person commits the assault after entering the private home of another 

with the intent to commit the assault. 

 

6. If the person is eighteen years of age or older and commits the assault on a 

minor under fifteen years of age. 

 

7. If the person commits assault as prescribed by § 13-1203, subsection A, 

paragraph 1 or 3 and the person is in violation of an order of protection issued against the 

person pursuant to § 13-3602 or 13-3624. 

 

8. If the person commits the assault knowing or having reason to know that the 

victim is any of the following: 

 

(a) A peace officer, or a person summoned and directed by the officer while 

engaged in the execution of any official duties or if the assault results from the 

execution of the peace officer's official duties. 

 

(b) A constable, or a person summoned and directed by the constable while 

engaged in the execution of any official duties or if the assault results from the 

execution of the constable's official duties. 

 

(c) A firefighter, fire investigator, fire inspector, emergency medical technician 

or paramedic engaged in the execution of any official duties, or a person summoned 

and directed by such individual while engaged in the execution of any official duties 

or if the assault results from the execution of the official duties of the firefighter, fire 

investigator, fire inspector, emergency medical technician or paramedic. 

 

(d) A teacher or other person employed by any school and the teacher or other 

employee is on the grounds of a school or grounds adjacent to the school or is in any 

part of a building or vehicle used for school purposes, any teacher or school nurse 

visiting a private home in the course of the teacher's or nurse's professional duties or 

any teacher engaged in any authorized and organized classroom activity held on other 

than school grounds. 
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(e) A health care practitioner who is certified or licensed pursuant to title 32, 

chapter 13, 15, 17 or 25, or a person summoned and directed by the licensed health 

care practitioner while engaged in the person's professional duties. This subdivision 

does not apply if the person who commits the assault is seriously mentally ill, as 

defined in § 36-550, or is afflicted with alzheimer's disease or related dementia. 

 

(f) A prosecutor while engaged in the execution of any official duties or if the 

assault results from the execution of the prosecutor's official duties. 

 

(g) A code enforcement officer as defined in § 39-123 while engaged in the 

execution of any official duties or if the assault results from the execution of the code 

enforcement officer's official duties. 

 

(h) A state or municipal park ranger while engaged in the execution of any 

official duties or if the assault results from the execution of the park ranger's official 

duties. 

 

(i) A public defender while engaged in the execution of any official duties or if 

the assault results from the execution of the public defender's official duties. 

 

(j) A judicial officer while engaged in the execution of any official duties or if 

the assault results from the execution of the judicial officer's official duties. 

 

9. If the person knowingly takes or attempts to exercise control over any of the 

following: 

 

(a) A peace officer's or other officer's firearm and the person knows or has reason 

to know that the victim is a peace officer or other officer employed by one of the 

agencies listed in paragraph 10, subdivision (a), item (i), (ii), (iii), (iv) or (v) of this 

subsection and is engaged in the execution of any official duties. 

 

(b) Any weapon other than a firearm that is being used by a peace officer or other 

officer or that the officer is attempting to use, and the person knows or has reason to 
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know that the victim is a peace officer or other officer employed by one of the 

agencies listed in paragraph 10, subdivision (a), item (i), (ii), (iii), (iv) or (v) of this 

subsection and is engaged in the execution of any official duties. 

 

(c) Any implement that is being used by a peace officer or other officer or that 

the officer is attempting to use, and the person knows or has reason to know that the 

victim is a peace officer or other officer employed by one of the agencies listed in 

paragraph 10, subdivision (a), item (i), (ii), (iii), (iv) or (v) of this subsection and is 

engaged in the execution of any official duties. For the purposes of this subdivision, 

"implement" means an object that is designed for or that is capable of restraining or 

injuring an individual. Implement does not include handcuffs. 

 

10. If the person meets both of the following conditions: 

 

(a) Is imprisoned or otherwise subject to the custody of any of the following: 

 

(i) The state department of corrections. 

 

(ii) The department of juvenile corrections. 

 

(iii) A law enforcement agency. 

 

(iv) A county or city jail or an adult or juvenile detention facility of a city or 

county. 

 

(v) Any other entity that is contracting with the state department of 

corrections, the department of juvenile corrections, a law enforcement agency, 

another state, any private correctional facility, a county, a city or the federal 

bureau of prisons or other federal agency that has responsibility for sentenced or 

unsentenced prisoners. 

 

(b) Commits an assault knowing or having reason to know that the victim is 

acting in an official capacity as an employee of any of the entities listed in 

subdivision (a) of this paragraph. 
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11. If the person uses a simulated deadly weapon. 

 

"B. A person commits aggravated assault if the person commits assault by either 

intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causing any physical injury to another person, 

intentionally placing another person in reasonable apprehension of imminent physical 

injury or knowingly touching another person with the intent to injure the person, and both 

of the following occur: 

 

1. The person intentionally or knowingly impedes the normal breathing or 

circulation of blood of another person by applying pressure to the throat or neck or by 

obstructing the nose and mouth either manually or through the use of an instrument. 

 

2. Any of the circumstances exists that are set forth in § 13-3601, subsection A, 

paragraph 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 or 6." Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-1204 (2015). 
 

In Arizona, every aggravated assault requires an assault. See Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. 

§ 13-1204(A). Because every possible version of aggravated assault in Arizona requires 

an underlying assault and because we are only looking for a Kansas crime that is similar 

in nature and prohibits similar conduct, it is only necessary to compare Arizona's assault 

statute with the relevant Kansas statutes. 

 

Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-1203 (2015) defines "assault" as:  "[i]ntentionally, 

knowingly or recklessly causing any physical injury to another person" or "[i]ntentionally 

placing another person in reasonable apprehension of imminent physical injury" or 

"[k]nowingly touching another person with the intent to injure, insult or provoke such 

person." Looking to Kansas' definition of "assault" at the time Tippetts committed his 

current crime of conviction (June 9, 2017), our state defined assault as "knowingly 

placing another person in reasonable apprehension of immediate bodily harm." K.S.A. 

2016 Supp. 21-5412(a). Kansas defined battery as "[k]nowingly or recklessly causing 

bodily harm to another person" or "knowingly causing physical contact with another 

person when done in a rude, insulting or angry manner." K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 21-5413(a). 
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Both assault and battery are person offenses in Kansas. See K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 21-

5412(e); K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 21-5413(g). 

 

When we examine the statutes side by side, the Arizona assault statute and the 

Kansas assault and battery statutes are comparable because they prohibit similar conduct: 

 

Subsections of Arizona Assault Comparable Kansas Offenses 

"[i]ntentionally, knowingly or recklessly 

causing any physical injury to another 

person" Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-

1203(A)(1) (2015) 

"[k]nowingly or recklessly causing bodily 

harm to another person" K.S.A. 2016 

Supp. 21-5413(a)(1) (battery) 

"[i]ntentionally placing another person in 

reasonable apprehension of imminent 

physical injury" Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 

13-1203(A)(2) (2015) 

"knowingly placing another person in 

reasonable apprehension of immediate 

bodily harm" K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 21-

5412(a) (assault) 

"[k]nowingly touching another person 

with the intent to injure, insult or provoke 

such person" Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-

1203(A)(3) (2015) 

"knowingly causing physical contact with 

another person when done in a rude, 

insulting or angry manner" K.S.A. 2016 

Supp. 21-5412(a)(2) (assault) 

 

 Because Kansas' assault and battery statutes are similar in nature and prohibit 

similar conduct as Arizona's aggravated assault statute, we need not examine all the 

variations listed in the Arizona statute. Accordingly, the district court properly classified 

Tippetts' 2015 Arizona aggravated assault conviction as a person felony. 

 

 However, Tippetts also argues that classifying his Arizona conviction as a person 

offense necessitated improper judicial fact-finding in violation of Apprendi v. New 

Jersey, 530 U.S. 466, 120 S. Ct. 2348, 147 L. Ed. 2d 435 (2000), and is, therefore, 

unconstitutional. But when comparing out-of-state statutes to Kansas statutes, the focus is 
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the statutory elements:  "[T]here is no review of the evidence surrounding the out-of-state 

conviction." Williams, 299 Kan. at 875; see also State v. Bryant, 310 Kan. 920, 922, 453 

P.3d 279 (2019) ("'[T]he definition of an illegal sentence does not include a claim that the 

sentence violates a constitutional provision.'"). Moreover, this argument is directly tied to 

Tippetts' assertion that his Arizona conviction can only be classified as a person offense 

if it meets the "identical or narrower" test under Wetrich. But as we have already 

indicated, Wetrich is not applicable because it was not the law in effect at the time of 

Tippetts' sentencing. Tippetts' sentence is legal because the district court did not 

improperly score his 2015 Arizona aggravated assault conviction as a person felony. 

 

Affirmed. 


