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Before ARNOLD-BURGER, C.J., POWELL and CLINE, JJ. 

 

PER CURIAM:  Curtis R. Dean Jr. appeals the classification of four out-of-state 

convictions for driving under the influence (DUI) in the district court's calculation of his 

criminal history score. Since the states where Dean received his DUI convictions define 

"vehicle" more broadly than Kansas, they are not comparable to Kansas' DUI statute. The 

district court erred in classifying Dean's out-of-state convictions as person felonies. 

Reclassifying these convictions will change Dean's criminal history score from A to B. 

We reverse and remand to the district court for resentencing, using the proper criminal 

history score of B. 
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Dean pled no contest to one count of aggravated battery while driving under the 

influence, with the crime being committed on October 16, 2017. Dean's presentence 

investigation (PSI) report showed six prior DUI convictions—two from South Dakota, 

two from Kentucky, one from Nebraska, and one from Illinois. The Nebraska conviction 

was classified as a nonperson felony and the others as person felonies. The district court 

determined Dean's criminal history score was A and sentenced him to 130 months' 

imprisonment and 24 months of postrelease supervision.  

 

Dean appeals the classification of four of his six DUIs as person felonies (two 

from South Dakota and two from Kentucky). He does not challenge the classification of 

the convictions from the other two states.  

 

The revised Kansas Sentencing Guidelines Act establishes presumptive sentences 

for crimes subject to the Act. Scores are based on an offender's criminal history (scored 

from A to I) and the severity level of the offense (scored from I to X for nondrug crimes 

and I to V for drug crimes). See K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 21-6804 (nondrug offense grid); 

K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 21-6805 (drug offense grid). An offender will have a criminal history 

score of A when the offender's criminal history includes three or more adult convictions 

for person felonies. See K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 21-6809.  

 

Whether a sentence is illegal is a question of law over which this court exercises 

unlimited review. State v. Dawson, 310 Kan. 112, 116, 444 P.3d 914 (2019). Likewise, 

the classification of a defendant's prior conviction is a question of law subject to 

unlimited review. State v. Dickey, 305 Kan. 217, 220, 380 P.3d 230 (2016). 

 

Although Dean did not challenge his criminal history score before the district 

court, an illegal sentence can be corrected at any time while the defendant's sentence is 

being served. K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 22-3504(a). A sentence is illegal if it (1) is imposed by a 

court lacking jurisdiction, (2) fails to conform to applicable statutory provisions, or (3) is 
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ambiguous with respect to the time and way it is to be served. K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 22-

3504(c)(1). Accordingly, Dean can challenge the classifications of his prior convictions 

for the first time on appeal.  

 

"[T]he legality of a sentence under K.S.A. 22-3504 is controlled by the law in 

effect at the time the sentence was pronounced." State v. Murdock, 309 Kan. 585, 591, 

439 P.3d 307 (2019). The district court announced Dean's sentence in March 2019, which 

means the May 2019 amendments to K.S.A. 21-6811 do not apply. See State v. Baker, 58 

Kan. App. 2d 735, 739-42, 475 P.3d 24 (2020) (discussing May 2019 amendment to 

K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 21-6811[e][3]). Thus, K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 21-6811(e) controls the 

classification of Dean's out-of-state convictions. 

 

In designating an out-of-state felony as a person or nonperson offense, a court 

must look to "comparable offenses under the Kansas criminal code in effect on the date 

the current crime of conviction was committed." K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 21-6811(e)(3). For 

an out-of-state conviction to be comparable to a Kansas offense, "the elements of the out-

of-state crime cannot be broader than the elements of the Kansas crime. In other words, 

the elements of the out-of-state crime must be identical to, or narrower than, the elements 

of the Kansas crime to which it is being referenced." State v. Wetrich, 307 Kan. 552, 562, 

412 P.3d 984 (2018). 

 

Generally, driving under the influence is classified as a nonperson offense. See 

K.S.A. 2017 Supp. 8-1567(b). But, when a person's crime of conviction is aggravated 

battery while driving under the influence, as Dean's was, then the sentencing 

enhancement provision in K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 21-6811(c)(3) applies. It provides in part 

that the first prior adult conviction for "[a]ny act described in" K.S.A. 8-1567, Kansas' 

DUI statute, will count as a nonperson felony for criminal history purposes. Subsequent 

convictions are counted as person felonies. K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 21-6811(c)(3). The 

Kansas Supreme Court examined a similar sentencing enhancement provision, K.S.A. 
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2014 Supp. 21-6811(c)(2), in State v. Schrader, 308 Kan. 708, 423 P.3d 523 (2018). The 

court held that "[t]o constitute a prior municipal DUI conviction subject to categorization 

as a person felony for purposes of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6811(c)(2), the conviction must 

have been based on an ordinance that was the same as, or narrower than, K.S.A. 2017 

Supp. 8-1567." 308 Kan. at 712. As such, Kansas courts take the same approach to 

sentencing enhancement classifications under K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 21-6811(c)(2) and (3) 

as they do to classifying out-of-state felonies.  

 

Dean committed his offense on October 16, 2017. Thus, we must examine the 

Kansas DUI statute in effect on that date:  

 
"(a) Driving under the influence is operating or attempting to operate any vehicle 

within this state while: 

(1) The alcohol concentration in the person's blood or breath as shown by any 

competent evidence, including other competent evidence, as defined in paragraph (1) of 

subsection (f) of K.S.A. 8-1013, and amendments thereto, is .08 or more; 

(2) the alcohol concentration in the person's blood or breath, as measured within 

three hours of the time of operating or attempting to operate a vehicle, is .08 or more; 

(3) under the influence of alcohol to a degree that renders the person incapable of 

safely driving a vehicle; 

(4) under the influence of any drug or combination of drugs to a degree that 

renders the person incapable of safely driving a vehicle; or 

(5) under the influence of a combination of alcohol and any drug or drugs to a 

degree that renders the person incapable of safely driving a vehicle." K.S.A. 2017 Supp. 

8-1567(a). 

 

Kansas defines the term "vehicle" as "every device in, upon or by which any person or 

property is or may be transported or drawn upon a highway, except electric personal 

assistive mobility devices or devices moved by human power or used exclusively upon 

stationary rails or tracks." K.S.A. 2017 Supp. 8-1485.  
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In Schrader, the Kansas Supreme Court examined whether a prior conviction for 

violating a Wichita DUI ordinance could be counted as a person felony under K.S.A. 

2017 Supp. 21-6811(c)(2). The Wichita ordinance was like the one used in enhancing 

Dean's sentence but applied when the defendant was convicted of involuntary 

manslaughter in the commission of a DUI. The Wichita ordinance defined "vehicle" as 

"'every device in, upon or by which any person or property is or may be transported or 

drawn upon a highway, except devices used exclusively upon stationary rails or tracks.'" 

The court held Wichita's definition of "vehicle" was broader than Kansas' definition. 308 

Kan. at 713. The court found it notable that "the Wichita ordinance [did] not carve 

exceptions for electric personal assistive mobility devices or devices moved by human 

power as K.S.A. 2017 Supp. 8-1485 [did]." 308 Kan. at 713. 

 

Similarly, Dean argues the definitions of the term "vehicle" in South Dakota and 

Kentucky are broader than, and thus not comparable to, Kansas' definition. 

 

South Dakota 
 

Dean's South Dakota DUI convictions occurred in June 2006 and March 2007. At 

that time, South Dakota defined "vehicle" as "a device in, upon, or by which any person 

or property is or may be transported or drawn upon a public highway, except devices 

moved by human power or used exclusively upon stationary rails or tracks; including 

bicycles and ridden animals." S.D. Codified Laws § 32-14-1(39) (2006 Supp.). The South 

Dakota Supreme Court has specifically held bicycles are included in the meaning of the 

term "vehicle" as it is used in the DUI statute. State v. Bordeaux, 710 N.W.2d 169, 173 

(S.D. 2006). Kansas' statute excludes bicycles. See State v. Gensler, 308 Kan. 674, 685, 

423 P.3d 488 (2018); City of Wichita v. Hackett, 275 Kan. 848, 853, 69 P.3d 621 (2003). 

The inclusion of bicycles makes South Dakota's DUI statute broader than the Kansas 

statute. The State concedes Dean's South Dakota DUIs should not have been scored as 

person felonies. The district court erred in counting these convictions as person felonies. 
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Kentucky 
 

Dean's Kentucky DUI convictions occurred in April and November 2009. At the 

time of Dean's convictions, Kentucky's DUI statute prohibited operating or being in 

physical control of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, but the statute 

did not define the term "motor vehicle." Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 189A.010. Because "there is 

no specific statutory definition of 'motor vehicle' in KRS Chapter 189A," Kentucky 

courts "'construe that term in accordance with its common and approved usage.'" Adams 

v. Commonwealth, 275 S.W.3d 209, 210 (Ky. Ct. App. 2008).  

 

The Kentucky Court of Appeals looked at the dictionary definition of "vehicle" ("a 

means of transporting or carrying persons or property") in Adams and concluded a moped 

was a motor vehicle for the purposes of the DUI statute because it can carry a person or 

property and has a motor. 275 S.W.3d at 210 (citing Merriam-Webster's Collegiate 

Dictionary 1305 [10th ed. 2002]). In another case, the Kentucky court looked at the 

dictionary definition of "motor vehicle," which defined the term as "'an automotive 

vehicle not operated on rails; esp: one with rubber tires for use on highways.'" Mattingly 

v. Commonwealth, No. 2008-CA-000610-DG, 2009 WL 1098111, at *2 (Ky. Ct. App. 

2009) (unpublished opinion) (quoting Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary 811 

[11th ed. 2005]). The Kentucky court concluded a golf cart was a motor vehicle because 

golf carts have motors and rubber tires. While golf carts are not equipped for highway 

use, the Kentucky court noted they were often used on roads for transporting people and 

equipment. 2009 WL 1098111, at *2.  

 

Dean argues Kentucky's law is broader than Kansas' because it does not exclude 

electric personal assistive mobility devices. An electric personal assistive mobility device 

is "a self-balancing two nontandem wheeled device, designed to transport only one 

person, with an electric propulsion system that limits the maximum speed of the device to 

15 miles per hour or less." K.S.A. 2017 Supp. 8-1491. An example of such a device 
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would be a Segway. See State v. Greenman, 825 N.W.2d 387, 390 (Minn. Ct. App. 2013) 

(examining statute with same definition of electric personal assistive mobility device).  

 

Dean's argument is persuasive under the reasoning of Schrader. Like the Wichita 

ordinance examined in that case, Kentucky's statutes and caselaw make no exception for 

electric personal assistive mobility devices. See Schrader, 308 Kan. at 713 (finding it 

notable that Wichita ordinance did not carve exceptions for such devices); see also 

Gensler, 308 Kan. at 683 (examining same Wichita ordinance and holding that "[t]he 

ordinance's silence on exceptions for electric personal assistive devices and devices 

moved by human power made its coverage broader than that of the state's baseline 

statute"). And because such devices could carry a person and have a motor, they could 

fall under the Kentucky courts' interpretation of "motor vehicle." Although the Kentucky 

and Kansas laws are similar, Kansas' definition of "motor vehicle" is not the same as or 

narrower than Kentucky's. See Schrader, 308 Kan. at 713 (finding that Wichita's DUI 

ordinance was broader than Kansas' DUI statute even though ordinance "generally 

mirrored" language in statute). For this reason, the district court should not have 

classified Dean's Kentucky DUIs as person felonies.  

 

Conclusion 
 

Four of Dean's prior DUI convictions were misclassified, resulting in an illegal 

sentence. The reclassification of those four convictions will change Dean's criminal 

history score from A to B. See K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 21-6809. We must remand to the 

district court for resentencing.  

 

Reversed and remanded with directions. 


