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Before COBLE, P.J., MALONE and WARNER, JJ. 

 

PER CURIAM:  After entering into a plea agreement, Conner B. Walker was 

convicted of one count of aggravated sexual battery. As part of his sentence, the district 

court imposed lifetime postrelease supervision and, as part of the court fees, assessed 

$725 for the victim's sexual assault kit and exam fee. Walker appeals, arguing that the 

district court erred by engaging in extrajudicial fact-finding to impose lifetime 

postrelease supervision in violation of Apprendi v. New Jersey, 530 U.S. 466, 490, 120 S. 

Ct. 2348, 147 L. Ed. 2d 435 (2000). He also claims that the district court erred because it 

failed to approve the $725 fee before simply including it in the journal entry. But because 
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Walker admitted his age multiple times in the record, we find no Apprendi violation and 

affirm the district court's imposition of lifetime postrelease supervision. However, 

because the district court erred by imposing the $725 fee in the journal entry without 

prior approval, we vacate the fee award and remand for preparation of a corrected order. 

 

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND 
 

In September 2021, the State of Kansas charged Walker with one count of 

aggravated sexual battery under K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5505(b)(3) or, in the alternative, 

one count of aggravated sexual battery under K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5505(b)(2). Walker 

eventually entered into a plea agreement with the State, and on June 15, 2022, he entered 

a guilty plea to aggravated sexual battery under K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5505(b)(3). In 

return, the State agreed to drop the alternative charge. 

 

In preparation for the plea hearing, Walker signed an acknowledgment of rights 

and entry of plea which indicated that the sentencing range for the crime to which he 

intended to plead guilty would include 31 months to 136 months' imprisonment and 24 

months' postrelease supervision. But the written plea agreement included a provision 

outlining:  "This is a case requiring lifetime post-release supervision per [K.S.A.] 22-

3717(d)(1)(G) [and] (d)(5)." The State also read the plea agreement into the record at the 

plea hearing, reciting that Walker acknowledged "this case requires lifetime post-release 

pursuant to statute." Then, during the same plea hearing, the district court notified Walker 

as follows regarding his sentence: 

 
"THE COURT:  As far as the potential range depending on your criminal 

history—and it does indicate that the parties expect your criminal history to be I, which is 

the most favorable. There is a range for a Severity Level 5, person felony of between 31 

months and 136 months in prison. Do you understand that? 

"[WALKER]:  Yes, sir. 
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"THE COURT:  Do you also understand that does carry potentially a maximum 

fine of $200,000 and post-release supervision of 24 months. Do you understand that? 

"[WALKER]:  Yes, sir." (Emphasis added.) 

 

The district court accepted the plea agreement and found Walker guilty of one 

count of aggravated sexual battery under K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5505(b)(3). Prior to 

sentencing, Walker filed a motion for downward departure. Among his arguments in that 

motion, Walker acknowledged the term of supervision, which stated:  "To alleviate 

concerns of public safety, Defendant is already subject to registration and lifetime post-

release supervision." At the sentencing hearing, the district court denied the downward 

departure motion and sentenced Walker to 31 months' imprisonment, the low number in 

the sentencing guideline in accordance with the plea agreement, and imposed a lifetime 

postrelease supervision period. 

 

During the sentencing hearing, the court also imposed what it called "the standard 

court costs" without specifying the included fees. The journal entry of judgment later 

itemized the court costs imposed, including $725 for a "Sexual Assault Kit/Exam Fee." 

 

Walker appeals. 

 

DID THE DISTRICT COURT ERR BY SENTENCING WALKER TO  
LIFETIME POSTRELEASE SUPERVISION? 

 

Walker argues for the first time on appeal that the lifetime postrelease supervision 

portion of his sentence is unconstitutional under Apprendi, 530 U.S. at 490 ("Other than 

the fact of a prior conviction, any fact that increases the penalty for a crime beyond the 

prescribed statutory maximum must be submitted to a jury, and proved beyond a 

reasonable doubt."). Walker maintains it was improper for the district court to find he 

was 18 years old or older when he committed the crime because he did not waive the 

right to have his age proven to a jury beyond a reasonable doubt. 
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Applicable Legal Standards 
 

Whether a district court violates a defendant's constitutional rights at sentencing as 

described under Apprendi raises a question of law subject to unlimited review. State v. 

Huey, 306 Kan. 1005, 1009, 399 P.3d 211 (2017). To the extent that resolving this 

question requires interpretation of any statutes, this also presents a question of law 

subject to unlimited review. See Nauheim v. City of Topeka, 309 Kan. 145, 149, 432 P.3d 

647 (2019). 

 

The district court sentenced Walker to postrelease supervision under K.S.A. 2021 

Supp. 22-3717(d)(1)(G), which states in pertinent part: 

 
"(i) Except as provided in subsection (u), persons sentenced to imprisonment for 

a sexually violent crime committed on or after July 1, 2006, when the offender was 18 

years of age or older, and who are released from prison, shall be released to a mandatory 

period of postrelease supervision for the duration of the person's natural life. 

"(ii) Persons sentenced to imprisonment for a sexually violent crime committed 

on or after the effective date of this act, when the offender was under 18 years of age, and 

who are released from prison, shall be released to a mandatory period of postrelease 

supervision for 60 months, plus the amount of good time and program credit earned and 

retained pursuant to K.S.A. 21-4722, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 21-6821, and 

amendments thereto." (Emphases added.) 
 

And Walker was convicted of aggravated sexual battery, which is statutorily 

defined as a sexually violent crime by K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 22-3717(d)(5)(I); therefore, the 

postrelease supervision provisions of K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 22-3717(d)(1)(G) were 

appropriately applied to Walker's sentence. 
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Preservation 

 

As a threshold issue, we must address whether this claim is appropriately before us 

for review. Walker concedes that he did not raise the Apprendi challenge in the district 

court although the State raises no preservation issue. 

 

Generally, issues not raised before the district court cannot be raised on appeal. 

State v. Green, 315 Kan. 178, 182, 505 P.3d 377 (2022). The courts have recognized 

three exceptions to this rule:  (1) The newly-asserted theory involves only a question of 

law arising on proved or admitted facts and is finally determinative of the case; (2) 

resolution of the question is necessary to serve the ends of justice or to prevent denial of 

fundamental rights; and (3) the district court was right for the wrong reason. State v. 

Allen, 314 Kan. 280, 283, 497 P.3d 566 (2021). Walker argues both the legal question 

exception and the fundamental rights exception apply. 

 

As an appellate court, our decision to review an unpreserved claim under the 

exceptions presented by Walker is a prudential one, and even if one of the exceptions 

were satisfied, we are under no obligation to review the newly asserted claim. State v. 

Robison, 314 Kan. 245, 248, 496 P.3d 892 (2021); see also State v. Gray, 311 Kan. 164, 

170, 459 P.3d 165 (2020) (declining to reach an unpreserved claim and finding the failure 

to present the argument to the district court "deprived the trial judge of the opportunity to 

address the issue in the context of this case and such an analysis would have benefitted 

our review"). 

 

But as Walker points out, our Supreme Court and other panels of this court have 

repeatedly reviewed Apprendi challenges regarding the length of postrelease supervision 

for the first time on appeal. See State v. Anthony, 273 Kan. 726, 45 P.3d 852 (2002); 

State v. Nunez, No. 125,141, 2023 WL 6172190, at *14 (Kan. App. 2023) (unpublished 

opinion); State v. Entsminger, No. 124,800, 2023 WL 2467058, at *6 (Kan. App. 2023) 
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(unpublished opinion), petition for rev. filed April 10, 2023; State v. Reinert, No. 

123,341, 2022 WL 1051976, at *2 (Kan. App. 2022) (unpublished opinion), rev. denied 

316 Kan. 762 (2022); State v. Schmeal, No. 121,221, 2020 WL 3885631, at *8-9 (Kan. 

App. 2020) (unpublished opinion); State v. Cook, No. 119,715, 2019 WL 3756188, at *1-

3 (Kan. App. 2019) (unpublished opinion). Exercising our discretion, we likewise reach 

the merits of Walker's claim. 

 

The District Court Did Not Engage in Improper Fact-Finding 
 

Walker argues the district court engaged in improper fact-finding when it found he 

was over 18 years old without submitting the question to a jury. The State counters that 

multiple court documents, including the plea agreement, clearly state Walker's birth date 

or his age, and Walker even orally admitted his age at the plea hearing. The State notes 

that other panels of this court have found no Apprendi violation under similar 

circumstances. 

 

Our own Supreme Court has previously determined that the statute allowing the 

district court to impose an extended period of postrelease supervision after a defendant is 

convicted of a sexually violent crime does not violate Apprendi. See State v. Walker, 275 

Kan. 46, 51, 60 P.3d 937 (2003). And, the United States Supreme Court has recognized 

that the "'statutory maximum' for Apprendi purposes is the maximum sentence a judge 

may impose solely on the basis of the facts reflected in the jury verdict or admitted by the 

defendant." Blakely v. Washington, 542 U.S. 296, 303, 124 S. Ct. 2531, 159 L. Ed. 2d 

403 (2004). The United States Supreme Court also clarified an exception to the Apprendi 

rule when the defendant admits to facts. United States v. Booker, 543 U.S. 220, 244, 125 

S. Ct. 738, 160 L. Ed. 2d 621 (2005). 

 

With these cases as a backdrop, several panels of this court have previously 

addressed the precise issue Walker presents. In Cook, much like here, the defendant 
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claimed that the district court committed an Apprendi violation because his age was not 

submitted to a jury before the court imposed lifetime postrelease supervision under 

K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 22-3717(d)(1)(G). There, the record showed that the charging and 

plea documents both disclosed Cook's age and Cook likewise admitted his age—29 years 

old—during the plea hearing. The Cook court rejected his argument and affirmed the 

district court, holding that facts Cook admitted to could elevate a sentence without 

violating Apprendi. Cook, 2019 WL 3756188, at *2 (citing Blakely, 542 U.S. at 303). 

 

Very similar to Cook, this court in State v. Zapata, No. 120,529, 2020 WL 

741486, at *5 (Kan. App. 2020) (unpublished opinion), denied the very same Apprendi 

challenge because Zapata acknowledged he was 22 years old on several documents 

before his guilty plea. The Zapata court found the district court had undisputed evidence 

that Zapata was over the age of 18 at the time of the crime. 2020 WL 741486, at *5. 

 

A panel of this court again visited this issue in Schmeal. There, Schmeal pleaded 

no contest to aggravated indecent liberties with a child and was sentenced to lifetime 

postrelease supervision. Schmeal admitted he was 19 years old on both his plea 

agreement and his financial affidavit for appointed defense services. At the plea hearing, 

the State mentioned his age in its factual basis recitation and Schmeal affirmed that the 

State's facts were true. On appeal, though, Schmeal challenged the district court's finding 

of his age under Apprendi. But because he repeatedly admitted his age before the district 

court imposed lifetime postrelease supervision, the panel held that the district court did 

not violate Schmeal's Apprendi rights. Schmeal, 2020 WL 3885631, at *9. 

 

More recently, another panel of this court fell in line with Schmeal, Zapata, and 

Cook, holding that the "admissions [of the defendant's age] to the district court were 

enough to enable the court to properly sentence him to lifetime postrelease supervision 

under the applicable statute." Reinert, 2022 WL 1051976, at *3. There, this court noted 

that the defendant admitted to his age several times before and after his guilty plea, 
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including in his motion for departure; during the sentencing hearing; and he did not 

object to the presentence investigation report, which listed his age as 25. 2022 WL 

1051976, at *3. And later, in Entsminger, a panel of this court recited the United States 

Supreme Court holdings in Booker and Blakely, affirming that the defendant's own 

admission of the facts—in this case, the defendant's age—is an exception to the general 

rule in Apprendi. Entsminger, 2023 WL 2467058, at *6. 

 

Although we are not bound by unpublished decisions of this court, these cases are 

persuasive, and we agree with the reasoning underlying those decisions. Walker's 

circumstances are analogous to those found in the cases mentioned above in that he 

admitted to his age numerous times in the district court record. First, Walker 

acknowledged that he was 19 years old in his signed financial affidavit. See State v. 

Haynes, No. 120,533, 2020 WL 741458, at *2-3 (Kan. App. 2020) (unpublished opinion) 

(finding admission of age in financial affidavit). Walker then stated in the 

acknowledgment of rights and entry of plea that he was 20 years old at the time he signed 

the agreement. Walker also attested that he was over the age of 18 at the time of the 

offense in the written plea agreement. Finally, Walker orally affirmed that he was 20 

years old during both the plea hearing and his sentencing hearing. He did not raise a 

challenge regarding his age at any time during the proceedings. 

 

Although Walker attempts to rely on other Kansas Supreme Court cases to support 

his argument, we find those arguments unpersuasive. For example, he relies on State v. 

Bello, 289 Kan. 191, 199-200, 211 P.3d 139 (2009), where our Supreme Court found that 

Apprendi required the vacation of life sentences imposed under Jessica's Law when 

neither the complaint nor jury instructions included a determination of the defendant's 

age. But even the Bello court recognized the Blakely holding that facts admitted by a 

defendant may serve as the basis for elevating a sentence. Bello, 289 Kan. at 199 (citing 

Blakely, 542 U.S. at 303-04). And here, as outlined, Walker freely admitted to his age at 

numerous points in the proceedings. 
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Walker also argues on appeal that because he was given conflicting information 

regarding the potential postrelease supervision term, he could not have knowingly waived 

his right to have his age proven to a jury. Walker contends his admissions to his age does 

not matter because any waiver was not procured as required by Blakely. No doubt, 

Walker is correct to the extent that the information given to him regarding postrelease 

supervision was initially conflicting. As recounted above, first, the defendant's 

acknowledgment of rights and entry of plea provided Walker would be subject to 24 

months' postrelease supervision. The same was true during the plea hearing, where the 

district judge asked, "Do you also understand that does carry potentially a maximum fine 

of $200,000 and post-release supervision of 24 months[?]" But, during the same hearing, 

the State recited aloud the plea agreement stating that the case required a term of lifetime 

postrelease supervision. The same was reflected in the written plea agreement signed by 

Walker:  "This is a case requiring lifetime post-release supervision per [K.S.A.] 22-

3717(d)(1)(G) [and] (d)(5)." Then, in Walker's own motion for departure, he 

acknowledged that he would be subject to lifetime postrelease supervision. 

 

Walker relies on Blakely—the source of the "admitted facts" exception to 

Apprendi—to argue that the district court could not have relied on his self-confessed age 

notations in the record because he was confused about the potential supervision period 

and so the appropriate waiver was not procured. Yet, as discussed above, Walker 

admitted to his age so no extrajudicial fact-finding was necessary, thus no waiver was 

needed. And, at no time did Walker seek clarification of the term of his postrelease 

supervision from the district court. Walker's claim that he could not have made a 

knowing or voluntary waiver due to his confusion is not supported by any evidence—in 

fact, the record belies this claim. Most importantly, whether Walker was confused about 

the potential length of his postrelease supervision is a question of fact, which this court 

must refrain from addressing for the first time on appeal. To consider such an argument 

would require us to consider factual development outside the record but "[f]act-finding is 
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simply not the role of the appellate courts." State v. Nelson, 291 Kan. 475, 488, 243 P.3d 

343 (2010) (citing State v. Thomas, 288 Kan. 157, 161, 199 P.3d 1265 [2009]). 

 

Walker's final Apprendi argument reasons that the violation of his right to have a 

jury determine his age cannot amount to a harmless error. He asserts that the State cannot 

meet the burden of showing that the error complained of will not or did not affect the 

outcome beyond a reasonable doubt. The State counters that even if this court finds an 

Apprendi violation, the error is harmless. 

 

Here, we find no error, and therefore need not determine whether any fictional 

error would be harmless. Other panels of our court have examined whether, even finding 

no Apprendi violation, an alleged error would be harmless and found as much. See 

Nunez, 2023 WL 6172190, at *16 (finding any Apprendi-type error was harmless); 

Schmeal, 2020 WL 3885631, at *10-11 (recognizing that while an Apprendi violation 

implicates harmless error review, this violation does not automatically require reversal as 

a structural error, and unless the record contained evidence that could lead to a contrary 

finding on the defendant's age, the error could be held harmless). As in both Nunez and 

Schmeal, the record before us contains multiple admissions by Walker that he was at least 

18 years old at the time the crime was committed, which lend themselves to a finding of 

harmless error. But we need not go this far. 

 

Again, the United States Supreme Court's holding under Apprendi is that the judge 

may impose the maximum sentence solely based on the facts reflected in the jury verdict 

or facts admitted by the defendant. Booker, 543 U.S. at 244; Blakely, 542 U.S. at 303. It 

is immaterial whether Walker waived his rights under Apprendi for a jury to prove his 

age—an admission of the facts by the defendant is equally satisfactory under Apprendi. 

The record is evident that Walker admitted his age multiple times clearly establishing he 

was 18 years old or older. Based on those admitted facts, the district court's decision did 

not violate his rights under Apprendi. See Entsminger, 2023 WL 2467058, at *7; 
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Schmeal, 2020 WL 3885631, at *9. As a result, we affirm the district court's imposition 

of a lifetime postrelease supervision term. 

 

DID THE DISTRICT COURT ERR BY IMPOSING 
EXAM FEES THAT WERE NOT PREVIOUSLY APPROVED? 

 

Walker's last issue on appeal challenges the district court order imposing $725 in 

fees for a "Sexual Assault Kit/Exam." This fee was not mentioned in the plea agreement, 

the presentence investigation report, or at either of Walker's plea or sentencing hearings. 

He argues that because this fee was not approved by the court during the sentencing 

hearing but was first assessed in the journal entry, the district court erred in imposing the 

$725 fee. The State concedes that Walker "appears to be correct" and that there seems to 

be no authority for imposing this fee through the journal entry alone. 

 

Applicable Legal Standards 
 

Whether or not a district court may impose fees is authorized by statute under 

K.S.A. 28-172a(d). A question of statutory interpretation presents a question of law over 

which appellate courts have unlimited review. State v. Betts, 316 Kan. 191, 197, 514 P.3d 

341 (2022). But to the extent that the trial court has discretion in an award for costs and 

expenses, this court reviews for an abuse of discretion. State v. Lopez, 36 Kan. App. 2d 

723, 726-27, 143 P.3d 695 (2006). A judicial action constitutes an abuse of discretion if 

(1) it is arbitrary, fanciful, or unreasonable; (2) it is based on an error of law; or (3) it is 

based on an error of fact. State v. Bilbrey, 317 Kan. 57, 63, 523 P.3d 1078 (2023). 

 

The District Court Erred in Imposing the $725 Fee 
 

K.S.A. 22-3801(a) requires a trial court to impose liability for court costs if the 

defendant in a criminal case is convicted. The statute outlines that "the court costs shall 

be taxed against the defendant and shall be a judgment against the defendant which may 
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be enforced as judgments for payment of money in civil cases." K.S.A. 22-3801(a). As 

both parties acknowledge on appeal, a district court has the authority to impose various 

fees associated with the criminal proceedings under K.S.A. 28-172a. Under this statute, 

"[a]ll other fees and expenses to be assessed as additional court costs shall be approved 

by the court, unless specifically fixed by statute." (Emphasis added.) K.S.A. 28-172a(d); 

see also State v. Alvarez, 309 Kan. 203, 208, 432 P.3d 1015 (2019) (holding that other 

fees to be assessed as court costs needed to be approved by the district court before they 

were taxed). According to K.S.A. 28-172a(d):  "Additional fees shall include, but are not 

limited to . . . fees for the sexual assault evidence collection kit, [and] fees for conducting 

an examination of a sexual assault victim." So, although such sexual assault kit and exam 

fees are permissible under K.S.A. 28-172a(d), they must be approved by the court unless 

fixed by statute. But no Kansas statute specifically fixes a "Sexual Assault Kit/Exam Fee" 

in the amount of $725. 

 

Here, the district court imposed a $725 fee in the journal entry after failing to 

pronounce or discuss it during the sentencing hearing. At sentencing, the district court 

merely imposed "standard court costs." Thus, it is evident that the district court failed to 

approve a sexual assault kit exam fee of $725 as required by statute. As a result, we find 

that the district court abused its discretion because its decision to impose the additional 

fee in the journal entry without first approving it was based on an error of law. 

 

Thus, the district court erred by imposing a "Sexual Assault Kit/Exam Fee" of 

$725 without first approving it as required by statute. As a result, we vacate the 

improperly assessed fee of $725 and remand for a nunc pro tunc order correcting the 

assessed fees. 

 

Affirmed in part, vacated in part, and remanded with directions. 


