### IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF KANSAS

**FILED** 

## **Administrative Order**

December 4, 2024

DOUGLAS T. SHIMA CLERK OF APPELLATE COURTS

2024-CM-099

## Re: Ad Hoc Criminal Pretrial Practices and Procedures Advisory Committee

The Supreme Court hereby creates the Ad Hoc Criminal Pretrial Practices and Procedures Advisory Committee (committee).

The members of the committee are charged with serving in an advisory role to combine their individual knowledge and experiences to assist in implementing recommendations from the Ad Hoc Pretrial Justice Task Force. The Court supports consistent statewide practices to improve services, and access to those services, for those involved at the pretrial state level. The committee will assist by:

- Reviewing task force best practice recommendations related to pretrial procedures and conditions of release and developing a plan for implementation to present to the Supreme Court;
- Creating bench cards, educational materials, and programs related to pretrial practices and procedures;
- Selecting and piloting a validated pretrial assessment tool for use by a pretrial supervision program;
- Creating and piloting statewide pretrial supervision standards;
- Making recommendations for data collection practices; and
- Making recommendations on additional topics the committee identifies as important for the Supreme Court to consider regarding pretrial practices.

The following individuals are appointed to serve on the committee effective the date of this order or until further order of this court.

# Kansas Court of Appeals

- Chief Judge Karen Arnold-Burger, Chair
- Judge Jacy Hurst, Vice Chair

## District Court Judges

- Judge Amy Hanley, 7th Judicial District
- Judge John McEntee, 10th Judicial District
- Judge M. Jennifer Brunetti, 11th Judicial District
- Magistrate Judge Ronald Sylvester, 30th Judicial District

## Court Services Officers

- Spence Koehn, CSO Specialist, Office of Judicial Administration
- Bree Gibson, CSO III, 10th Judicial District
- Stephanie Springer, Chief CSO, 27th Judicial District
- Kevin McGuffin, Chief CSO, 31st Judicial District

### Additional Members

- Justin Barrett, defense attorney, Thomas County
- Heather Cessna, Executive Director of Kansas State Board of Indigents' Defense Services
- Sheriff Jeff Easter, Sedgwick County
- Robert Sullivan, Director of Johnson County Community Corrections
- Todd Thompson, Leavenworth County Attorney

The committee may form subcommittees as needed to develop the recommendations. The subcommittees may include individuals who are not members of this committee and will make reports to the Advisory Committee. The group will be supported by Office of Judicial Administration personnel as needed.

Dated this 4th day of December 2024.

FOR THE COURT

MARLA LUCKERT Chief Justice

Marla Tuckert