2009 SC 31

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF KANSAS

Re: Kansas Judicial Branch Fiscal Year 2010 Surcharge

WHEREAS, approximately $15.9 million has been cut from the Judicial Branch’s FEY
2010 maintenance budget and
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WHEREAS, it has been determined that, without restoration of the mamtenance bu@get ,
cut, the Judicial Blanch cannot perform its constitutional and statutory duties; and s L
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WHEREAS, the Legislature has authorized assessing a Judicial Branch Surcharge 5 -
2009 Senate Bill 66; - "

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that a Judicial Branch Surcharge shall be assessed in
accordance with the attached schedule, effective July 1, 2009.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the following terms and conditions shall apply:

1. The district and appellate courts may waive all or part of the Judicial Branch
Surcharge set forth in this order on motion of the party to be charged, and upon a showing that
such surcharge will result in undue hardship to the petitioning party;

2. The district and appellate court clerks shall monthly remit surcharge funds to the state
treasurer as provided in 2009 Senate Bill 66 and K.S.A. 75-4215. Upon receipt of such
remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the state treasury to the credit of
the Judicial Branch Surcharge Fund. All expenditures from such fund shall be made in
accordance with appropriation acts and upon warrants of the director of accounts and reports
issued pursuant to vouchers approved by the Chief Justice of the Kansas Supreme Court or by a
person or persons designated by the Chief Justice;

3. Notwithstanding the provisions of Supreme Court Administrative Order No. 41 or
local rules pertaining to the order of payment in criminal cases, funds received in criminal cases
shall first be credited to the Judicial Branch Surcharge Fund in the amount required, then shall be
credited to other funds or entities as Supreme Court Administrative Order No. 41 or local rule
direct;

4. In criminal and civil cases where a party is ordered to pay court costs, the Judicial
Branch Surcharge shall be considered a portion of such court costs;

5. The Judicial Branch Surcharge is not a service or operations charge and funds will be
utilized solely to make up the deficit in the maintenance budget; and



6. This order shall be effective on and after July 1, 2009, and shall continue until June
30, 2010, unless rescinded or amended by the Kansas Supreme Court.

BY ORDER OF THE COURT the~== Y&day of June, 2009,

~ Robert E. Davis
Chief Justice

Attachment



2009 DOCKET FEE and SURCHARGE CHART
Effective July 1, 2009 through June 30, 2010

Amended June 29, 2009

* In addition to the statutes provided, 2009 SB 66 provides authority for the Judicial Branch Surcharge Fund.

TYPE OF FEE STATUTE
CIVIL
Chapter 60 60-2001 $156,00 $10.00 $166.00
Domestic: 60-2001 $156.00 $10.00 $166.00
Post Decree Motion 60-1621 $42.00 $10.00 $52.00
Limited Actions:
<=5500 61-4001 $37.00 $10.00 $47.00
>$500 or <=$5,000 61-4001 $57.00 $10.00 $67.00
>=$5,000 or <=525,000 61-4001 $103.00 $10.00 $113.00
Small Claims:
<=$500 61-2704 $39.00 $10.00 $49.00
>=5500 or <=54,000 61-2704 $59,00 $10.00 $69.00
Transfer Limited to Civil
Original $37.00 61-2910; 60-2001 $119.00 $10.00 $129.00
Original $57.00 61-2910; 60-2001 $99.00 $10.00 $109.00
Original $103.00 61-2910; 60-2001 $53.00 $10.00 $63.00
Order or Writ of Execution 60-2401 0.00 $10.00 $10.00
Hearing in Aid of Execution/Alias Order
for Hearing 60-2419; 61-3604 0.00 $10.00 $10.00
Order for Garnishment 60-729; 61-3502 0.00 $10.00 $10.00
Writ or Order of Sale 61-3602 0.00 $10.00 $10.00

BONDS, LIENS, JUDGMENTS
Post-Judgment Promotion of Ch. 61 to

Ch. 60 28-170 $24.00 $10.00 $34.00
Foreign Judgment (another state) 60-2001; 60-3005 $156.00 $10.00 $166.00
Foreign Judgment (another county) 60-2203a $14.00 $10.00 524.00
Tax Warrant 28-170; 79-3235 $24.00 $10.00 $34.00
Personal Property Tax Warrant 28-170; 79-2101 $14.00 $10.00 $24.00
Statutory Bond 28-170; 60-1110 $14.00 $10.00 $24.00
Hospital Lien 28-170; 65-407 $14.00 $10.00 $24.00
Lis Pendens 28-170; 60-2203a $14.00 $10.00 $24.00
Mechanic’s Lien 28-170; 60-1102 $14.00 $10.00 $24.00
Notice of Intent to Perform 28-170; 60-1103 $14.00 $10.00 $24.00
Oil & Gas Mechanic’s Lien 28-170; 55-209 $14.00 $10.00 $24.00




TYPE OF FEE STATUTE DOCKET FEE
CRIMINAL
Murder/Manslaughter 28-172a $182.50 $10.00 $192.50
Felony 28-172a $173.00 $10.00 $183.00
Misdemeanor 28-172a $138.00 $10,00 $148.00
Forfeited Recognizance 28-172a $74.50 $10.00 $84.50
Expungement {conviction) 21-4619 0.00 $10.00 $10.00
Expungement (arrest) 22-2410 $10.00

TRAFFIC

Ei

28-172a

$100.00

$110,00

DL Reinstatement

FISH & GAME

8-2110

28-172a

WP Reinstatement

32-1049a

JUVENILE

Offender 38-2314
Child in Need of Care 38-2215
Juvenile Tobacco 28-172a

"PROBATE

38-1610

Conservatorship &/or Guardianship 59-104 $71.50 $10.00 $81.50
Trusteeship 59-104 $71.50 $10.00 $81.50
Filing Will & Affidavit 59-104 $50.50 $10.00 $60.50
Determination of Descent of o
Property 59-104 $51,50 $10.00 $61.50
Probate of Estate or Will 59-104 $111.50 $10.00 $121,50
Refusal to Grant Letters of
Administration 59-104 $50.,50 $10.00 $60.50
Termination of Joint Tenancy 59-104 $50.50 $10.00 $60.50
Termination of Life Estate 59-104 $50.50 $10.00 $60.50
Adoption ' 59-104 $50.50 $10.00 $60.50
Certified Probate Proceedings {out
of county) 59-104 $25.50 $10.00 $35.50
Decrees in Prohate from Another
State 59-104 $110.50 $10.00 $120.50
Care and Treatment:
Alcoholism or Drug Abuse 59-104 $36.50 $10.00 $46.50
Mentally ill 59-104 $59.00 $10.00 $69.00
Commitment of Sexually Violent
Predator 59-104 $35.50 $10.00 $45.50

Marriage License

" APPEALS

Municipa! Court Appeal 28-172a $74,50 $10.00 $84.50
Appellate Courts S.C.R. 2.04 §125.00 $10.00 $135.00
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