2010 SC 30

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF KANSAS

Re: Kansas Judicial Branch Fiscal Year 2010 and FY 2011 Surcharge and
Application to Reinstatement Fees Assessed by Municipal Courts

Amending 2009 SC 31 and 2009 SC 43

WHEREAS, the Legislature authorized assessing a Judicial Branch Surcharge in 2009
Senate Bill 66 and has extended and increased that authority in 2010 Senate Substitute for House
Bill 2476; and

WHEREAS, approximately $15.9 million was cut from the Judicial Branch’s FY 2010
maintenance budget, and the FY 2011 budget recommendations to date would severely
underfund the Judicial Branch; and

WHEREAS, it has been determined that, without additional funding, the Judicial Branch
cannot perform its constitutional and statutory duties;

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that a Judicial Branch Surcharge shall be assessed in
accordance with the attached schedule, effective April 20, 2010, which includes a $17.50
Judicial Branch Surcharge to be assessed by municipal courts on drivers’ license reinstatement
payments collected, effective April 20, 2010,

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the following terms and conditions shall apply:

1. The district, municipal, and appellate courts may waive all or part of the Judicial
Branch Surcharge set forth in this order on motion of the party to be charged, and upon a
showing that such surcharge will result in undue hardship to the petitioning party;

2. The district, municipal, and appellate court clerks shall monthly remit surcharge funds
to the state treasurer as provided by K.S.A. 75-4215 and 2010 Senate Substitute for House Bill
2476. Upon receipt of such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the
state treasury to the credit of the Judicial Branch Surcharge Fund. All expenditures from such
fund shall be made in accordance with appropriations acts and upon warrants of the director of
accounts and reports issued pursuant to vouchers approved by the Chief Justice of the Kansas
Supreme Court or by a person or persons designated by the Chief Justice;

3. Notwithstanding the provisions of Supreme Court Administrative Order No. 41 or
local rules pertaining to the order of payment in criminal cases, funds received in criminal cases
shall first be credited to the Judicial Branch Surcharge Fund in the amount required, then shall be
credited to other funds or entities as Supreme Court Administrative Order No. 41 or local rule
direct;



4. In criminal and civil cases where a party is ordered to pay court costs, the Judicial
Branch Surcharge shall be considered a portion of such court costs;

5. The Judicial Branch Surcharge is not a service or operations charge and funds will be
utilized solely to make up the deficit in the maintenance budget; and

6. This order shall be effective on and after April 20, 2010, and shall continue until June
30, 2011, unless rescinded or amended by the Kansas Supreme Court.

7. On the effective date of this order, 2009 SC 31 and 2009 SC 43 are hereby amended in
accordance with this order.

BY ORDER OF THE COURT the ! % day of April, 2010.

i YA

Lawton R. Nuss
Justice

Attachment



2010 and 2011 DOCKET FEE and SURCHARGE CHART

(Effective April 20, 2010 through June 30, 2011)

(Revised April 15, 2010)

* In addition to the statutes provided, K.5.A. 2009 Supp. 28-177 provides authority for the Judicial Branch Surcharge Fund.

TYPE OF FEE

STATUTE

DOCKET FEE

SURCHARGE

_Writ or Order of Sale

' BONDS, LIENS, JUDGMENTS
Post-Judgment Promotion of Ch. 60 to

Chapter 60 60-2001 $156.00 $17.50 $173.50
Domestic: 60-2001 $156.00 $17.50 $173.50

Post Decrea Motion 60-1621 $42.00 $17.50 $59.50
Limited Actions:

<=5500 61-4001 $37.00 $15.00 $52.00

>$500 or <=85,000 61-4001 $57.00 $15.00 $72.00

>=$5,000 or <=$25,000 61-4001 $103.00 $15.00 $118.00
Small Claims: ‘

<=8500 61-2704 $39.00 $10.00 $49.00

>=5500 or <=54,000 61-2704 $59.00 $10.00 $69.00
Transfer Limited to Civil

Original $37.00 61-2910; 60-2001 $119.00 $17.50 5136.50

Original $57.00 61-2910; 60-2001 $99.00 $17.50 $116.50

Original $103.00 61-2910; 60-2001 $53.00 $17.50 $70.50
Order or Writ of Execution 60-2401 0.00 $10.00 $10.00
Hearing in Aid of Execution 60-2419; 61-3604 .00 510.00 $10.00
Order for Garnishment 60-729; 61-3502 0.00 $10.00 $10.00

60-2401; 61-3602 0.00 $10.00

Ch.61 28-170 $24.00 $17.50 $41.50
Foreign Judgment (another state) 60-2001; 60-3005 $156.00 $17.50 $173.50
Foreign Judgment (another county) 60-2203a $14.00 $17.50 $31.50
Tax Warrant 28-170; 79-3235 $24.00 $17.50 $41.50
Personal Property Tax Warrant 28-170; 79-2101 $14.00 $17.50 $31.50
Statutory Bond 28-170; 60-1110 $14.00 $17.50 $31.50
Hospital Lien 65-409 $5.00 0.00 $5.00

Lis Pendens 28-170; 60-2203a 514.00 $17.50 $31.50
Mechanic’s Lien 28-170; 60-1102 $14.00 $17.50 $31.50
Notice of Intent to Perform 28-170; 60-1103 $14.00 $17.50 $31.50
Oit & Gas Mechanic’s Lien 28-170; 55-209 514.00 517.50 $31.50




CRIMINAL

T

455

TRAFFIC

g

28-172a

Murder/Manslaughter 28-172a $182.50 $17.50 $200.00
Felony 28-172a $173.00 $17.50 $190.50
Misdemeanor 28-172a $138.00 $17.50 $155.50
Forfeited Recognizance 28-172a 574.50 $17.50 $92.00
Expungement (conviction) 21-4619 $100.00 $15.00 $115.00
Expgement (arrest) 22-2410 $100.00 $15.00 $115.00

DL Reinstatement

FISH & GAME

8-2110

28-172a

WP Reinst tement

T

32-1049a

i

PROBATE

JUVENILE

Offender 38-2314 $34.00 $17.50 551.50

Child in Need of Care 38-2215 $34.00 $17.50 $51.50

Juvenile Tobacco 28-172a 576.00 $17.50 $93.50
Expungement 38-2312 $100.00 $115.00

Conservatorship &/or Guardianship 59-104 $71.50 $17.50 $89.00
Trusteeship 59-104 $71.50 517.50 $89.00
Filing Will & Affidavit 59-104 $50.50 $17.50 $68.00
Determination of Descent of
Property 59-104 $51.50 $17.50 $69.00
Probate of Estate or Will 59-104 $111.50 $17.50 $129.00
Refusal to Grant Letters of
Administration 59-104 $50.50 $17.50 $68.00
Termination of Joint Tenancy 59-104 $50.50 $17.50 $68.00
Termination of Life Estate 59-104 $50.50 $17.50 $68.00
Adoption 59-104 550.50 $17.50 $68.00
Certified Probate Proceedings (out
of county) 59-104 $25.50 517.50 $43.00
Decrees in Probate from Another
State 59-104 5$110.50 $17.50 $128.00
Care and Treatment:
Alcohalism or Drug Abuse 59-104 $36.50 $17.50 554.00
Mentally Hi 59-104 $59.00 $17.50 $76.50
Commitment of Sexually Violent
Predator $35.50

M License

APPEALS
Municipal Court Appeal 28-172a $74.50 $17.50 $92.00
Appellate Courts S.C.R.2.04 $125.00 $10.00 $135.00




