Skip to content

District Court Rules

The Supreme Court permits judicial districts to adopt rules when necessary.

District court rules

The Kansas Supreme Court has adopted rules that govern how district courts operate.

Search Supreme Court rules

Supreme Court Rule 105 permits judicial districts to adopt local rules that are:

  • clear and concise;

  • necessary for the judicial district's administration;

  • consistent with applicable statutes; and

  • consistent―but not duplicative of―Supreme Court rules.​


Local district court rules

1st Judicial District: Atchison and Leavenworth counties (no local rules) 

2nd Judicial District: Jackson, Jefferson, Pottawatomie, and Wabaunsee counties

3rd Judicial District: Shawnee County

4th Judicial District: Anderson, Coffey, Franklin, and Osage counties

5th Judicial District: Chase and Lyon counties

6th Judicial District: Bourbon, Linn, and Miami counties

7th Judicial District: Douglas County

8th Judicial District: Dickinson, Geary, Marion, and Morris counties

9th Judicial District: Harvey and McPherson counties

10th Judicial District: Johnson County

11th Judicial District: Cherokee, Crawford, and Labette counties

12th Judicial District: Cloud, Jewell, Lincoln, Mitchell, Republic, and Washington counties

13th Judicial District: Butler, Elk, and Greenwood counties

14th Judicial District: Chautauqua and Montgomery counties

15th Judicial District: Cheyenne, Logan, Rawlins, Sheridan, Sherman, Thomas, and Wallace counties

16th Judicial District: Clark, Comanche, Ford, Gray, Kiowa, and Meade counties

17th Judicial District: Decatur, Graham, Norton, Osborne, Phillips, and Smith counties

18th Judicial District: Sedgwick County

19th Judicial District: Cowley County

20th Judicial District: Barton, Ellsworth, Rice, Russell, and Stafford counties

21st Judicial District: Clay and Riley counties

22nd Judicial District: Brown, Doniphan, Marshall, and Nemaha counties

23rd Judicial District: Ellis, Gove, Rooks, and Trego counties

24th Judicial District: Edwards, Hodgeman, Lane, Ness, Pawnee, and Rush counties

25th Judicial District: Finney, Greeley, Hamilton, Kearny, Scott, and Wichita counties

26th Judicial District: Grant, Haskell, Morton, Seward, Stanton, and Stevens counties

27th Judicial District: Reno County

28th Judicial District: Ottawa and Saline counties

29th Judicial District: Wyandotte County

30th Judicial District: Barber, Harper, Kingman, Pratt, and Sumner counties

31st Judicial District: Allen, Neosho, Wilson, and Woodson counties (no local rules)

Find a District Court

Back to top